Lieutenant Governor Presents Historical Preservation Award

Laura ManningNews

WINNIPEG – Five Manitobans received awards for their commitment to the preservation and promotion of the province’s history and heritage.

The recipients are:

Gerald ‘Gerry’ Clark (Flin Flon);
Wally Johannson (Gimli);
Christopher Kotecki (Winnipeg);
Maria Lodge (Winnipeg); and
Donald Peake (Flin Flon).

“These awards provide a wonderful opportunity to celebrate those who dedicate significant time, energy and creativity to ensure the province’s rich history is kept alive,” said Lt.-Gov. Filmon. “Whether through stewardship of the provinces historic buildings, museums and archives, the writing of books or creating programs to engage and inspire future historians, these outstanding Manitobans care deeply about the communities in which they live. It is a pleasure to recognize their efforts and achievements.”

The MHS receives award nominations from the public and recommends up to five people to receive awards each year. Nominations are welcome at any time.

Further details of the award program along with a nomination form are available on the Manitoba Historical Society website at www.mhs.mb.caand can also be accessed through the website of the lieutenant-governor