2018 Manitoba Curling Hall Of Fame Class an Impressive Group

Bill BurfootNational News

WINNIPEG, MB – Curl Manitoba announced this year’s Hall of Fame class at announcement Wednesday morning at the Sport Manitoba building and it’s an impressive group.

Jennifer Jones and Jill Officer highlight the class which includes builder Cindy Maddock of Morden and curler Peter Nicholls. Under the team category Norm Houck’s 1987 Canadian Senior Champions team including third Henry Kroeger, second Sam Doherty and lead Doug McCartney will be inducted as well as Hal Tanasichuk’s 1977 Canadian championship mixed squad that featured third Rose Tanasichuk, second Jim Kirkness and lead Debbie Orr.

Jones and Officer enter the Hall with an impressive resume which include six Canadian Championships, a 2008 World Championship, and an Olympic Gold Medal from the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi. Two weeks ago Officer announced she would be taking a step back from competitive curling at the end of the season after more than two decades playing with Jones.

The honorees will be formally inducted at the 31st annual induction ceremony and dinner on May 6 at Canad Inns Polo Park. Tickets are $100 each or $720 for a table of eight at Curl Manitoba, 204-925-5723.

Bill Burfoot, Manitoba Post