Night of Champions Award Winners


WINNIPEG – Saturday evening Sport Manitoba handed out the hardware during the annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken Producers.

This night celebrates sports excellence in Manitoba, and there was plenty to celebrate as athletes, coaches, officials, and volunteers were recognized for their remarkable achievements in amateur sport in our province.

Sport Manitoba Award Recipients

Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year

Victoria Tachinski – Athletics – Winnipeg

Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year

Tyson Langelaar – Speed Skating – Winnipeg

Calm Air Junior Team of the Year

Bonivital Flames U17 team – Soccer

Club Regent Casino and Event Centre Female Coach of the Year

Amanda Tetrault – Water Polo – Winnipeg

Club Regent Casino and Event Centre Male Coach of the Year

Jeff Scarcello – Volleyball – Winnipeg

OPIN Official of the Year

Azad Hosein – Volleyball – Winnipeg

Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer

Ross Wedlake – Basketball – Winnipeg

Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Awards Recipients

The Nott Autocorp Male Athlete of the Year – Open Category

Andrew Harris – Football

The Labatt Female Athlete of the Year – Open Category

Brigette Lacquette – Hockey

The Maurice Smith Memorial Award – The Winnipeg Free Press Team of the Year – Open Category

Winnipeg Goldeyes – Baseball

Cactus Jack Wells Memorial Impact Award

2017 Canada Summer Games

The Manitoba Aboriginal Sports and Recreation Council also recognized their athletes and volunteers of the year at the event:

Female Aboriginal Athlete Award

Dennita Cameron – multi-sport – Thompson (Cross Lake Band)

Male Aboriginal Athlete Award

Adam Thompson – multi-sport – Roseau River First Nation

Female Aboriginal Volunteer Award

Winona Morrison – Peguis First Nation (York Factory First Nation)

Male Aboriginal Volunteer Award

Mike Taylor – St. Theresa Point First Nation

With files and photo from Sport Manitoba