Government Appointees to Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries

Manitoba PostNews

WINNIPEG, MB – Minister Cliff Cullen announced the appointment of three new board members to Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of three distinguished Manitobans to the board of Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries, each of whom I am confident will continue the good work of the corporation,” Cullen said. “In addition, I am happy to announce two re-appointments to the board. I commend all members, both previous and current, for their due diligence.”

Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries is responsible for the sale of liquor and gambling and operates Liquor Marts, Club Regent Casino, McPhillips Station Casino, Video Lotto and With the federal government mandating the legalization of recreational cannabis effective July 1, Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries will see an expanded role managing the safe warehousing and distribution of cannabis throughout the province.

The corporation’s net revenue is returned to the province to support health care, education, economic development, public safety initiatives, and social and community services. The board directs the business affairs of the corporation and ensures it complies with the mandate set out by government including making bylaws, overseeing operations and monitoring financial results.

The newly appointed directors are Randall Swanson, Marshall Ring and Patricia Solman.

Swanson, from Gimli, recently retired from his position as vice-president of Aboriginal services and forestry services for MNP. He has over 30 years of experience developing effective long-term relationships with Indigenous communities, providing expert support in areas related to financial management, governance and leadership.

Ring, of Winnipeg, is currently the CEO of the Manitoba Technology Accelerator. In addition to serving as a dedicated volunteer at Winnipeg schools, Ring is secretary to the board of directors for the APHA Rangers Hockey Association, and is co-founder and manager of the Manitoba Knights Angel Investor Group.

Solman, from East St. Paul, is the former senior vice-president for network and field services at BellMTS. In addition, she previously served as vice-president of operations for MTS Allstream from 2011 to 2015. She is a past director of Women in Communication and Technology, the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce and United Way Winnipeg, and was named the 2008 ‘Mentor of the Year’ by Canadian Women in Communications.

The re-appointed directors are Stuart Murray and Gary Coleman.

Murray, from Winnipeg, is president and CEO of the City of Human Rights Education Inc. (2015 to present). He held the position of president and CEO of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights from 2009 until 2014, leading the construction and completion of the project. Murray was also a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal and the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal.

Coleman, of Winnipeg, is the president and CEO of Big Freight Systems, a Canadian asset-based trucking and freight management company (1981 to present). He has served on various boards including the Economic Innovation and Technology Council of Manitoba, the Health Science Centre Foundation and the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Transportation Council.

The remaining directors are Polly Craik (chair), Nick Logan (vice-chair), Tracey Maconachie, Mavis Taillieu and Gary Timlick.

The minister thanked all previous board members for their service to Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries and wished the new board well.

Government of Manitoba

File photo